Why become a member? ×

Full of GAS tonight, advice needed

Jimryan

Evening all,

Usually I'm good and I'm happy with my precision.

However, tonight I've been thinking about what to aspire to (like to have a bass to aspire to from time to time), and with my tax return in May, now's a good time to pick what one to aspire towards (as it'll take me that long to truly decide).

My problem is as follows, I can't decide between a Bongo 4 (I had one in Desert Gold before they discontinued it and regretted selling it ever since) and a Modulus FB/FU4.

The bongo's a safe choice, I've played one and know I like it. Love the looks and I think they're fantastic instruments.

However, the modulus, I've never played one, never tried graphite at all, but love the looks. Biggest problem with the modulus, is that this is THE bass I've wanted since I started playing. I've always wanted one and always will want one.

Thoughts please.

Cheers,

James

Edited by Jimryan

Both great basses . The good news is that you can't go wrong with either . The Bongo you already know well , and in my opinion they are fantastic and unique instruments and the equal of much more expensive " boutique " basses . The Bongo is pretty unique sounding , whereas the Modulus is basically another take on the Stingray- nothing wrong with that but maybe slightly less tonal options than the Bongo . The graphite adds to the punch of the sound , and makes the Modulus a very substantial bass that could last you a lifetime . Would you be buying new or secondhand ? I've seen both basses at good prices on Basschat , and both would be a good investment in terms of resale value . Could you stretch to buying the two of them ?

I'd prefer new, but if there's a second-hand option when I get round to buying I'll take it (quality and finish being the deciding factor). There's no way I could afford both, let alone justify spending that much on basses in one hit.