Why become a member? ×

Discovering 2x10 Cabs

RandomBass

I've been using my BF Compact for a few years now. For a while I even had two of them, but found I really didn't need that so one of them found a new home.

In one of my phases of curiousity and discovery, I thought I'd see what all the fuss was about with 2x10 cabs as I'd never used one before. Before long I had a pair of those bargain basement Harley Benton 210 cabs from those lovely people at Thomann.

The cabs themselves are pretty well made for the bargain price - and the tweeter is not at all harsh or nasty to listen to. Also, the control plate on the back has a continuosly variable tweeter control, together with a pair of jack and a pair of speakon sockets.

The downside was the 10" drivers - but then what do you expect for less than the cost of 6 months road tax?

So, along came the opportunity to get a set of four Celestion BL10-200S speakers, 16 Ohm each to maintain my 8 ohm per cab rating, for a bargain price.

I'd already had an enlightening PM discussion with our very own Phil Starr: he recommended some Fane Sovereigns in the end, which I may well take up in any future experiments. I eventually got the Celestions and popped them in the HB cabs. An easy swap really.

The difference is night and day.

The dull, poorly defined thudding sound coming from the original drive units has been replaced by clarity, definition to notes, and a real nice punch to the sound. Oh, and easily much louder sensitivty wise. I now have a pair of relatively inexpensive 2x10 cabs, which weigh about 23Kg each, which sould good and loud - either alone or as a pair. I dont have to baby them. I dont have to worry about them. They are purely functional, look good and sound great. What's not to like?

The other side to this, is my discovery of how good a vertically aligned array of four 10" drivers can sound. Plenty of loudness, up higher I can hear them better on stage. Out front they sound just fab.