Why become a member? ×

cab advice- 4x10 or 2x15?

stubass

Hi guys. I'm a bit new to cabs and that and wondered if I could ask for some advice. I've always played combos (never needed anything bigger) but when I joined the band I'm in, we decided to hire a room so I've been playing through an ampeg 250w head and an 8x10 ashdown cab. It sounds too good and its demotivating coming home to my behringer bx1200! So I took the plunge and bought an ashdown electric blue 180 head. There is a guy not far from me selling a Laney 4x10 cab and wondered what I could expect from it vs the 8x10? Also he's asking for £100, does that sound fair or are there better ones to be had? I'm playing small/medium venues with drummer, doing soul/funk/disco stuff. Any advice appreciated.

£100 for a 410 can`t be sneered at. In terms of sound, well bear in mind it is half the size of the 810, and significantly lower in height, so when you use it all the sound you are used to hearing with the 810 won`t be there, it will be around your knees. I`m saying this so you aren`t majorly disappointed as the height will be a main thing with the 810 as to why it sounds so good.

But in terms of giggable rig - unless you are very loud, that should be enough, though bear in mind the 180 watts is at 4ohms, so I don`t know how much power it gives at 8ohms (although I`ve no idea if the Laney is a 4 or 8ohm cab).

Given that you'll only get about 3db more from a 4ohm cab than an 8ohm cab with that amp, it's a moot point. Two 8ohm cabs would be a different kettle of fish. [size=4]However, I agree with The Dark Lord in that you'll struggle with 180W. I'd want to use at least 300W in that situation, if only for the headroom.[/size]

Edited by discreet