Why become a member? ×

Charity gig advice

MarkW

[font="Calibri"][size="3"][color="#000000"]Hi everyone – I’m on the scrounge for advice I’m afraid![/color][/size][/font]
[font="Calibri"][size="3"][color="#000000"]I’d like to organise a charity gig with our band to raise some money for a foundation that was set up in memory of an old friend and fellow musician. I’ve never done anything like this before (to be perfectly honest I’ve never organised a gig of any description) so if any of you has any experience of this sort of thing I’d be really grateful for your advice.[/color][/size][/font][font="Times New Roman"][size="3"][color="#000000"] [/color][/size][/font]
[font="Calibri"][size="3"][color="#000000"]I guess the key things are going to be selecting the right type and size of venue, advertising the event (are local radio stations willing to promote this sort of thing?), the money stuff (sell tickets, or have free entry and ask for a donation?), anything else we can do that’s likely to increase attendance, and of course the best ways of coercing people into doing things for nothing![/color][/size][/font][font="Calibri"][size="3"][color="#000000"] [/color][/size][/font]
[font="Calibri"][size="3"][color="#000000"]Thanks in advance folks, and all the very best for 2014![/color][/size][/font]
Mark

Hmmm People make quite a bit of money out of charity.... ( that is my cynical view )
I would set a few targets.
How much to raise and where does it go.
What sort of event do you want?

You could ask a pub the fellow was known in, to host it.... that is most of your venue concerns dealt with.
How many people could you reasonably expect to get.
How many bands do you want/ Bands are notorious for playing for free ( which is good-ish for you)

I am against long all dayers, generally, as people don't know when to turn up..and can't really be expected to last start to finish
so maybe 4 bands from 1830 till midnight....??