Why become a member? ×

Hi. I've Come To Pick Your Brains

Broken Fingers

Hi.

I am 55 and started playing bass when I was 18. Then I went gallivanting about for a few years until about ten or eleven years ago when I bought myself another bass and started attempting to play it again.

I have been attempting ever since and have played in a couple of bands.....mainly heavy stuff like Sabbath, Iron Maiden, ACDC, Metalica and so on.

When I was 18, in 1976, I bought a Fender Jazz Bass in a music shop in Newcastle for £330-00. It was a lot of money at the time. When I stopped playing I sold it......Oh god, how I wish I hadn't. Anyway, when I started playing again, I bought a 2002 Mexican P Bass in Midnight Wine, to get started on. It was great.....still got it.

In 2006, I bought a Fender Custom Shop 1975 reissue Jazz bass. Made in the USA. It cost £1100 quid I think. Maple neck, block inlays. Nice bit of kit and its what I play most of the time.

Since then I bought a few different basses. A Warwick Streamer, which I still have but don't like, so I don't play it. I have another red Mexican P Bass, and Ibanez Gio Soundgear and a Musicman Sub Bass 4. I tend to buy any old bass I see if the price is right.

Today, I was rang by a guy I know from the pub who told me that during a house clearance he recovered an old red Yamaha bass. I went round to have a look. The neck was straight it looked OK so I gave him £40.00 for it.

Gave it a clean, put some new Rotosounds on it and plugged it in.

Its a phenomenal piece of kit. Its a BB300 and judging by the serial number it was made around Spring 1984. So it is 30 years old. I have never played a Yamaha bass before. It's a P-bass but I would say that it plays and sounds better than either of my Fender P basses. Its had a bit hammer and has more than its fair share of dents and scratches.....but hey-ho, it cost 40 quid!