Why become a member? ×

Mark Bass LMII or EA iamp 500

NoLogic69

Hi, I'm new to this game and looking for some advice. I'm after a new amp head and it's come down to a choice of 2, but not sure which to go for. Will it be the LMII or the iamp 500? Just a bit worried that the iamp might be a bit sterile sounding, and my worry with the LMII is the lack of level control on the DI. I understand the Mark Bass to be a nice warm sounding amp, which is what I'm looking for, but not sure about the iamp 500, although it does have some great features. All advice is very welcome....... Cheers!

[quote name='NoLogic69' post='239610' date='Jul 14 2008, 10:59 PM']...my worry with the LMII is the lack of level control on the DI.[/quote]

I have never needed a level control on a DI. It only takes a small tweak of the EQ to take most amps from sterile to warm and vice versa. IMO sterile is a word used by bassists who are either too new to the game to know otherwise or too paranoid about their own tone to trust in a transparent amp to produce fat bass.

Alex