Why become a member? ×

Soldering KIts

Clarky72

Looking to get myself a soldering kit, I've seen people rating the kits by Antex & Weller, and saying to avoid eBay/Maplin ones. So for basic guitar wiring it looks like I need about 40/50W to be able to get the wires onto the back of pots, and a chisel tip is best.

Here's the problem, I cant find any reasonably priced kits that have chisel tips, they all have pointed or screwdriver tips. Are all tips generally the same spec, will random no brand tips from Amazon or eBay fit into most irons? Can anyone help?

Sorry if this is in the wrong category, feel free to move it if it is...

Hi I am no soldering expert but I have an antex 40W kit and it is bloody hopeless the cable is extremely short and it just feels so cheap and nasty it is OK for soldering wires together but anything more not so much I have heard some good things about the maplin temp controlled irons and tips and stuff seem to be pretty cheap

I have a normal Antex 30W with the smallest flat tip I could find.. anything big just gets in the way. Changing the tip is dead easy. Also have a basic temperature controlled one with a pointy tip, which I use most of the time. Both excellent for guitar wiring and basic amp work.

I bought my Antex iron kit about 35 years ago. I recon it'll see me out. So on this basis, don't skimp. buy a descent one .After all, they're not very expensive.

The Weller soldering stations are brilliant, but for home use they're a bit overkill.

If I were buying now I'd buy this one:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Antex-SK9-Soldering-Iron-Kit/dp/B003IU3XAI/ref=sr_1_4?s=diy&ie=UTF8&qid=1403442084&sr=1-4&keywords=Antex#productDetails

I have had quite a lot of soldering irons over the years, and was an electronic engineer for a long time. Compared to the stuff that used to exist, you would be hard pressed to get really poor things now.