Why become a member? ×

Yam TRBX504 vs. J&B SB-2 vs. Lakland 44-01 comparison / recommendation?

wildfins

I PM Hamfist on this topic (as he used to own all of these) but would think that it's reasonable to post it on public forum to seek and share with other owners opinion as well:

I am a beginner and into pop, country rock, bachata... style (no hard rock or metal alike) and considering either a Yam TRBX504 or a [s]J&B[/s] G&L SB-2 or a Lakland 44-01 (all in the same price range). I am leaning toward the Yam TRBX504 for its active pickup, built quality and versatility based on what I read on various forums and youtube demos but I have also heard a lot of good stuffs about the other two basses as well as the Squier CV Jazz.

Would you mind enlighten me as to how these instruments compare/differ from each other and what would be your personal preference/recommendation - considering that I would probably only have this one bass for years to come?

Thanks,
Wild

Edited by wildfins

the Yamaha does not have active pickups; it has passive pickups and active EQ, which is, roughly, a similar setup to what the Lakland has. Not sure what J&B SB2 is; do you mean G&L by chance?

For that price ball-park, I would definitely go second hand. You can find a *proper* old Yamaha for that kind of money.

To mix it up more, if must be new, I'd recommend a Cort GB4 I think it's called now, it's been called GB94 before. I've had one and loved it, it's still in my avatar. Made in the same factory as that Lakland, also with Hipshot Ultralite tuners, better pickups (Seymour Duncan Basslines), better bridge (heavy chunk of brass with quick release slots) etc.

Sorry, I did actually mean G&L SB-2 as I was thinking about the G&L JB-2 in my head :)

Hamfist also gave me a very detailed and valuable feedback from his real life experience so I'd take the initiative to share with other newb who might be wondering the same questions...