Why become a member? ×

Board oiling

keefbaker

Hi guys, I got an ebony board fretless last week and it came with rounds on it. The board is already a little marked, so, as I was planning to put a set of XL Chromes on anyway I'm going to oil the board.

Now, I already have a bottle of fast fret here, so the question is this, as I've never used oil on a board before.

How much do you use?

Is it just a bit on a cloth? A lot? Is there a particular best practice for this?

A very small amount, and use only a couple of times a year.

Fast fret never used to be a fingerboard preparation, it was something you wiped onto the strings when they were on the bass to clean them & make them sqeak less - have they changed it?

[quote name='RhysP' timestamp='1458816486' post='3011101']
Fast fret never used to be a fingerboard preparation, it was something you wiped onto the strings when they were on the bass to clean them & make them sqeak less - have they changed it?
[/quote]

Probably not, I'm just dumb as a bag of hammers. I should order some lemon oil.

I bought a small bottle of Dr Ducks Ax Wax some time ago, and use it on everything - strings, frets/fretboard, saddles & chrome work, everything.

A little really does go a long way - I reckon this bottle will last longer than me...

[quote name='Dad3353' timestamp='1458831503' post='3011333']

...although, for two dabs per year, that's not really too much of an issue, I'd say.
[/quote]

This is very true.
I bought a large bottle as I do setups. But even after nearly a year and many basses the bottle is still at least 90% full. I would definitely go for the boiled linseed oil, but if mineral oil is your thing then buying a bottle from the supermarket will be cheaper rather than buying so called lemon oil although it does smell nice.

[quote name='paul_5' timestamp='1458850984' post='3011628']