Why become a member? ×

Power Supply or Not?

NickD

Forever, I've been a fan of plug in and play. I know how I want to sound, know how to get that out of my gear, and the world is all at peace.

Recently I've embarked upon a project that requires a little more, a stripped down originals 3 piece that seems to pull me towards a few effects. I started using my B3, with an expression pedal, but having got close to what I want I've also picked up a few dedicated effects to do a more refined job in some cases.

I still intend to keep the Zoom, for the tuner, looper and for a patch of backup effects in case anything fails live, as it's easily good enough in most cases, but I currently have 3 additional pedals.

So... Total noob question. Assuming I've got a big enough pedalboard/case ('cos I have), is there any advantage to me getting a proper pedalboard power supply, as opposed to my current (and free) plan to just velcro a 4 way plug adaptor on there behind the pedals?

If it's definitely the way to go, any advice on pitfalls and how to do it without spending a fortune would be most welcome.

Thanks in advance!

Nick

46 minutes ago, NickD said:

Forever, I've been a fan of plug in and play. I know how I want to sound, know how to get that out of my gear, and the world is all at peace.

Recently I've embarked upon a project that requires a little more, a stripped down originals 3 piece that seems to pull me towards a few effects. I started using my B3, with an expression pedal, but having got close to what I want I've also picked up a few dedicated effects to do a more refined job in some cases.

I still intend to keep the Zoom, for the tuner, looper and for a patch of backup effects in case anything fails live, as it's easily good enough in most cases, but I currently have 3 additional pedals.