Why become a member? ×

Re-staining a bass

spectoremg

Hi they are factory sprayed. The answer is yes you could but you would have to completely take everything off the body and strip it back to bare wood and start again Its a lot of work. it looks really good to me as it is   I’m a carpenter and polisher  and done one as a project in my joinery shop 

EB1C4C29-9C3C-4CB4-8E21-3DE7A59A4847.jpeg

4DAADF1B-F4E7-40CC-B3F5-6808ECF7E93B.jpeg

It it's all solid wood (unlikely) then yes - as @Reggaebass says, it's a case of stripping and sanding down to clean wood.

If the figuring is a veneer, then yes with some disclaimers...the veneer will only be 0.6mm thick so it is very easy to break through when stripping

If the figuring is a photo application, then no - well, technically you could still go down to bare wood and stain that but all of the figuring will be sanded away.

Before striping it's good to take a good, close look at the bass. If you're looking at a cheaper bass, such as the Spector Bass Legend...
132625-tmp656B.jpg?w=700&h=700&fit=fill&

... Take a look at the edges. See how they're dark? This is to cover the fact that the front is only veneer. The black covers the join to the cheap boring wood.
I'm not a Spector expert, so I don't know which bass yours is, but you need to be sure the figured maple look you have is really wood. It would be a shame to strip it and find it was a very interesting and clever paint finish.

As above... stripping is always a gamble. You won't know what you have, 'til you've wrecked stripped it.

Isn't the bass in the OP "double stained" that is the first application of stain is allowed to penetrate deep into the wood and then the top is partially sanded back to remove the stain from the less porous areas. Then the whole body is retained again which gives a higher contrast effect on the grain.