Why become a member? ×

Which 15" cab with tweeter?

Guest Marcoelwray

Guest Marcoelwray

Hi folks...

I'm no expert in cabs, but I started to play again on my old full valve Klemt Echolette BS40 '69.... 

I've got an BT400 with it, 2x 15" but I must admit that if the head gives a beautiful warm sound, the cab is just a piece of wood with speakers in it... I'm looking for a 15" cab with tweeter with some specs:

- has to be not too expensive, or used... don't want to spend 1000£ in a cab.

- I prefer sober designs... (textile grids, black is good)

- with tweeter or high frequency speaker

- Ideally a 5.3ohms but I'm no fool, a 4ohms will be cool

- weight is not an issue, will stay in studio

- MUST BE a responsive 15", not floppy one...

I will accept any good advices about cabs because I don't really follow what's new and what's good... I'm too much into my wood !

Thanks!

Edited by Marcoelwray

Hi Marco, 5.3 ohms, that's a bit specific. You won't find anything out there at that impedance unless it's home made. You'd only get that with 3x16 ohms speakers in a cab. That won't matter, your amp is valve you say so it'll have a matching transformer. If it was originally built for a 3 way speaker it might be matched to such an odd impedance or it may be set to that so it will work equally well with a 4 or 8 ohm impedance. (it's 33% away from either, and the matching isn't that critical) Do you have other impedances available? that will be marked on the back of your amp. If not then for convenience I'd go for a single 8 ohm cab, with your amp you'll get the same volume out of either and if you ever want to add a second cab another 8ohm cab will work fine.

Guest Marcoelwray

@Phil Starr  I just had an Epifani UL3-310, 5.3ohms, like you said 3 times 16ohms. 

Why does it have to be a 15" ??? Because I don't know much about cabs, that's why I ask for some advices, I didn't say I know nothing about electronic and I owned several cabs.