Why become a member? ×

Finally got my Octavius Squeezer

thisnameistaken

This thing is not for the faint-hearted, but when it's firing nicely it does exactly what it says on the LCD:

I'm still learning to use this thing but I'll post my thoughts and sound clips as I find my way around it. The default firmware is terrible - I can see why so many people were angry when it was first released. The tracking was shocking, and it crashed every five minutes. Flashed it today with the latest version and so far it looks much more stable. I have still had a couple of crashes while editing sounds though, so it's not bomb-proof by any means. The tracking is pretty good but not Micro-POG-stellar - it'll cope with an open E for a second or so. Which is handy because otherwise the tuner would be totally useless. It's still not quite good enough to [i]replace[/i] my tuner though I don't think.

The oscillator sounds good, filter sounds good, fuzz I haven't played with much yet, ADSR settings available on both the filter and the VCA, portamento settings and waveform selection on the oscillator, couple of different mix options between VCO, clean and fuzz signals, it's not really as complicated as it looks if you think of it in terms of synth modules. I'm not going to tell you the interface is "OK" though. Nope. Not even "OK"! It's a pain in the arse.

Biggest downside so far is the triangle and trapezoid waves are a lot quieter than the square and saw, and no amount of filter tweaking seems to sort it out so far. There's plenty of available gain but it can get hissy with too much boost. Maybe they know you can't get unity out of it - the triangle-based octaver default preset is too quiet, surely they'd have sorted that out if they could? I'll probably mail them about that.

Must go, pubs to visit. Impression so far: Sounds very good, bit tricky to play, slightly unreliable, pain in the arse to edit patches.