Why become a member? ×

2 Preamps on a pedalboard, is it too much?

AngeR

Posted (edited)

Hello guys,

this is my pedalboard and I'm fairly happy with the sound possibilities that I have.

IMG_3325.heic

I am a session musician and 90% of the gigs, I use In Ear monitoring without an amp. The thing is that I have to play a LOT of genres and for some kinds of music something is missing... the "amp sound".

Doing some research I found the Origin Effects Bass Rig Super Vintage (the Ampeg clone) and the thing might be the right tool for what I need.

So, the question is: what if I let the Mesa (it's a always on type of pedal) for the main EQ and after that I use the Origin for amp and speaker simulation? Is it redundant?

Just to explain the other EQ pedal in my board, I use it only for matching the volume of my basses and more or less like an onboard pre (when I need some equing like more low end or scooped sound).

Thanks for the help and sorry for the English, obviously, it's not my main language.

Edited by AngeR
  • Like 1

Posted (edited)

If it gives you the tone you want then no amount of preamps are too many.

I personally use a combination of no less than 4 preamps to get the tone I want in my "amp-less" setup.

Basic tube preamp, on the verge of breakup -> analog overdriven guitar "amp in a box", mixed 50/50 with parallel "clean" tone -> digital bass amp emulator with IR cab sim -> basic tube preamp and DI with build in HPF, on the verge of breakup

Edited by Baloney Balderdash
  • Like 2

Thanks for the reply! I thought that I had a “complicated” setup… 😂 

4 preamps in a pedalboard, wow!

Thanks for the advice

ps: it would be cool to see your pedalboard 😉

19 minutes ago, MrDinsdale said:

IMG_9754.thumb.jpeg.62618b7c2c95b1d3da5adaaded32fc1e.jpeg

The more the merrier! The SLO, FeT and Mother all provide their own flavours. I’m contemplating moving the Mother on to a separate smaller “guitar” board though. 

You need a bigger board my friend :)