Why become a member? ×

Why did my strings break?

Kowad

I feel as if I’m missing something obvious so asking seems sensible!

D’Addario NYXL 55/110s, long scale. Fitting them on a 35” (edit: no, 34”) bass. E and A fine. Both the D and the G snapped, at the tuning peg. 

This is a first for me. What might I have done wrong? Both strings had a clear run from bridge to nut, both were running under a string tree, both broke right at the tuning pegs. Tbf I have not bought heavy strings often (if at all), wondering if this is a big feature, but… they’re heavy gauge, they should be up to being tuned, right?!

Ta! 

Edited by Kowad

I have been playing bass for 45 years and never broken a string, so you're super unlucky to have two go on a single set!

When you say they "broke", what actually happened - did the core physically break or was it something else?  Was it when you were tuning them up for the first time? Had you cut them? How many winds did you have on each tuner?  Were you in standard tuning?

49 minutes ago, franzbassist said:

I have been playing bass for 45 years and never broken a string, so you're super unlucky to have two go on a single set!

When you say they "broke", what actually happened - did the core physically break or was it something else?  Was it when you were tuning them up for the first time? Had you cut them? How many winds did you have on each tuner?  Were you in standard tuning?

Thanks Franz. I’ve restrung a fair few basses so this was a surprise. Fairly narrow tuning pegs, and I prefer not to have overlapping winds so… actually, I had cut a couple of inches off E and A but the D and G were untouched! Full length. Perhaps 5 winds? Ish?