Why become a member? ×

Son Wants To Learn Bass

So, my 15 year old lad revealed last night that he has a strong desire to learn bass, much to my delight. He's tried 6 string guitar before and couldn't really gel with it, but he's been playing violin / fiddle since the age of two. He's also highly proficient when it comes to reading music.

He's so familiar with the sound of bass, as the house / shed has been filled with my own rumblings on the instrument since I started playing 5 years ago. Maybe it's a comforting sound to him, although I hasten to dive too deep into his thought process as to the reasons for this new desire.

I don't feel that I would be a very good teacher, as much as I'm keen to share thoughts on what has / hasn't worked for me over the years, so the question is this: Which online course would perhaps be best suited to him? 

I've had a few tries with SBL, but I couldn't get on with the content and teaching style at all. To that end, I'm mainly self taught. I see Bassbuzz could be a good starting point for him. I've quite warmed to Josh's goofy way of teaching from the online videos I've seen. Gear isn't a problem, as we've a house full of exactly what he needs to get going.

Any thoughts are much appreciated.

Cheers,

G

• Like 4

Couldn’t you just show him and get him going, it sounds like your son already has a good knowledge of music, the rest will come, if not I would suggest maybe have a look at Mark on talkingbass, I like his no nonsense approach, good luck 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

+1 for talking bass.

I've never done a whole course with them but I found Mark's free videos the absolute pick of the YouTube crop when I finaly got round to learning how to slap a few years back.

His teaching style really clicked with me.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

wow, I came to the bass after the violin too. I was 13. (1981)

No lessons, I just worked it out really.

I wished I'd kept up the violin now.