Why become a member? ×

Is this 1993 Squier Standard Precision Bass any good?

Leo2134786

Hi everyone,
I've been playing bass for about 2 years now and I'm looking to upgrade my bass from this Aria STB P bass model: https://www.ariauk.com/index.php?route=product/product&language=en-gb&product_id=13609
I was looking at used Fender Player P basses and came across this Squier bass for £350. I was wondering if this would be a good bass to upgrade to but I was skeptical because of the lower price tag so I came here to ask.

Thanks to anyone who responds!
I've attatched pictures and the description below:

It is in Good Condition.

This model was produced in 1993 in Korea.

image.thumb.png.8f9730f9c1fc2b86e50b11168fc71305.pngimage.thumb.png.347cc6f6aad9e7edeb7947660c9e129f.pngimage.thumb.png.e3cc65f765107a68d7add99db7ca5780.pngimage.thumb.png.473c012660558bac8cf76f3fb695340d.pngimage.thumb.png.09cf92cfe7c4aeb436e5e09c1d8280f6.pngimage.thumb.png.89d03d29da455260387720fa16c03a76.pngimage.thumb.png.adea2e1330f328e492d4136d3ca61e4e.png

• Like 1

I believe they preceded the Vintage Modified basses.

Depending on how it plays and sounds, I'm betting it's better than the new Affinity basses.

If the price is right, grab it.

Looks pretty good!

In all honestly - it won't feel that different from your current bass. Especially those close backed tuners don't inspire much confidence. Not many modern basses use them as they tend to be cheap. Also managed to find the advert for that bass on Reverb and it's listed as having a rosewood board.....I'd avoid it.

If you want a better P-Bass and are happy with spending £350, try and get a Squier Classic Vibe or go for Sire P5. Not sure where you're based, but I always recommend trying to go somewhere and try and few different things, might be surprised by what you like versus what you started learning on!

• Like 1