Why become a member? ×

Working with Drop A#/Bb tuning live

osakasuperrescue

Hello all, hoping to pick some brains here, on the subject of playing in a low tuning live and experiencing some tone issues that I'm trying to diagnose.

I'm playing in a sludge metal band on a Yamaha BB235 tuned to match the guitarist in Drop A# (A#-F-A#-D#-G#), so low B down a half step, E-A-D-G up a half step, usually going into a Laney DIgbeth 500w head set fairly conservatively on EQ, pushed by either a Laney Blackheath or Darkglass B3K v1 overdrive (after an Ampeg Opto-Comp).

I'm a guitarist by trade and have only been regularly on bass since the start of the year. What I've been finding is that in a few gigs now (so rooms of varying size), riffs on the low A# are getting super muddy, and I'm trying to tick off things I could do to improve this. So far I have:

1. Go up a string gauge notch on the bottom string (so a .135), and down a notch on the rest (.105, .85, .70, .50 vs. the usual .100, .80, .65, .45) to try and balance tensions out and give the low A# more stabillity
  2. Better clean blend through pedalboard (I can employ a DSM Simplifier Bass Station which may help)
  3. Doing some pedal routing to process the high frequency bass distortion separately, leave the low frequencies as clean as possible (or just a lower gain setting in general)
  4. Compensating EQ on the amp (am I right in thinking cut some bass, boost some high mids?)
  5. Get a better bass for added performance all round

But are there other considerations? I understand from reading elsewhere that an issue with tuning so low is that PAs are going to pick up less of that lowest frequency, but that's starting to get into live sound engineering and a lot more over my head. Hopefully a few other metalheads in here can give me some pointers!

I play progressive metal stuff in drop B, BF#BE, so similar but not the same.