Why become a member? ×

Live playing vs studio

I'm trying to organise my thoughts on a situation and would appreciate others' input.

I've been playing in the band for a singer/writer for the past 9 years on a different instrument that only crops up in a handful of their songs. Going back 4 years or thereabouts I started learning to play the bass. I did this because the singer/writer had written some songs that would benefit from bass guitar at live gigs and they didn't have anyone playing for them. I got a few tips from a seasoned bass player and then just learned a song at a time and gradually started playing bass on more songs. I am not a brilliant bass player but I have put in some effort and think I'm playing OK for their gigs. Recently I was asked to record a couple of bass lines for the next album. I expressed my doubts at the time as playing for recording feels like it needs a more experienced player than me to make sure it's spot on. I suggested they get in a session bassist but the singer was clear they wanted me to do it. I put quite a bit of time into preparing for the session, which went ok (which was a relief as I was worried that the pressure of being in the studio might render me useless!) and although there were no perfect takes and it took me a while to warm into it, across the last three takes me/singer/engineer were happy we'd covered everything in this particular song albeit it would require a bit of cutting/pasting which I know isn't ideal.

Two months down the line, the singer has told me that they have had a session player record a different bass line for this song which they say sounds really cool and was down in one take so involves less work so they are going to use that instead.