Why become a member? ×

1972 Jazz Bass - Verification of a few things

Hello all, 

I'm new here and would appreciate some advice. I've been playing for about 20 years on and off and I've finally found a vintage Jazz bass that i'm really interested in. I've put a sizable deposit down on it and would be grateful of someone could just verify a few bits on it please before I drive for three hours and treat the family to a night in a hotel at great expense!

The bass is advertised as an "all original" 1972 bass, however the numbering on the neck doesn't seem to use the same stamp type I've seen on other Jazzes of the era. The "bullet" of the truss road doesn't look the same either.

puymethzgwfujwuyqtrm.jpg

Also, the neck pocket is painted which "may" suggest that it has been re-finished and although the guitar does have newer pickups, the original pickups are included but i'm questioning the potentiometers, they don't look original . The serial also suggests a 73-74 bass as opposed to a 72.

j5pyeo23q1x5twi8zec9.jpg

wauyjqoyjknj3s9ypimx.jpg

Are my concerns justified, or am I needlessly worrying?

I'm sure the person selling the bass will be an active member on the site, and they have been courteous and helpful.. this post isn't a reflection on them.. I'm just doing due diligence as I would with any big purchase of something I'm not necessarily clued up about.

Full advert is here

https://reverb.com/uk/item/82269749-fender-jazz-bass-1972-black

Many thanks in advance for any information thrown my way. 

Cheers

Edited by TheStarsmith
Forgot original advert

At first sight; 100% refinish and non original pickguard.

I can't read the potmeter dating, if they don't read '72 it would be nice to know how they got to that year.

Very strange that they don't mention the refinish and changed pickguard (should be tortoise or white usually, depending on original finish, also thumb rest holes on top are wrong).