Why become a member? ×

I'm having wiring troubles, please help!

Shire

Evening all,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with the wiring of my Fender Musicmaster please?

I have just purchased a new SD pikup for it but I am having problems with the wiring in general I think.

I think that the pots are touching the copper shielding in the body of the bass causing it to stop working intermittently. Also I can only get it to work if I lift the edge of the pickguard with the jack input on up slightly. I have tried taping over the copper shielding to see ig this is the problem but before I rip it out (as its a neat job) I just thought I'd get some other opinions :rolleyes:

Here are some pics which will hopefully help you out. Please excuse the shoddy soldering, its my first attempt at something like this :)

Thanks in advance,
Matt

The middle legs on the 2 pots look to be touching each other so try to bend them apart slightly,and also signal side of the capacitor looks to be touching the pot casing.

I would suggest you ask a local Basschatter to help you out with your soldering, no offence intended!

Regards

Will.

I think 2x18 might be right. It looks like that capacitor might be pushed onto the pot casing when you screw the pickguard down.

You could verify this by sliding a piece of paper under the capacitor so that the wire that is not soldered onto the pot casing cannot touch the casing.

As far as I can see the wiring looks ok - the "official Fender" wiring is slightly different on the tone pot but I don't think it would actually make any difference to the sound.

[quote name='2x18' post='495556' date='May 22 2009, 09:01 PM']The middle legs on the 2 pots look to be touching each other so try to bend them apart slightly,and also signal side of the capacitor looks to be touching the pot casing.

I would suggest you ask a local Basschatter to help you out with your soldering, no offence intended!

Regards

Will.[/quote]