Why become a member? ×

Thomann 111

hpc364

Hi !

I've been playing the double bass for six months now.

My double bass is a Thomann 111, when I ordered it they asked me the setup I wanted (string height), so I said "jazz".

The instrument came very well protected, the action is 8mm for G and 12mm for E.

When I read comments on forums mostly in talkbass (sorry), I think to myself the action is too high but out of this forum it seems to be "normal".

I forgot to mention the strings are cheap, they are steel strings, the brand is Artino, it's what Thomann says.

The double has got a good sound, I put a double piezo on it (Shadow 950), I filed some wood in order to install it.

Everyone says it sounds good.

I think it's the way to go for an affordable double bass.

Edited by hpc364
  • Like 2

That action is at the higher end for a steel string "jazz" setup. Not badly so, but it might be worth considering getting a setup and/or adjustable bridge when you next have some money after buying decent strings :)

Edited by tinyd
  • Thanks 1

On 27/08/2024 at 23:13, Bloopdad1 said:

Awesome. 

Sounds like a decent instrument. 

Invest in a set of Evah Pirazzi (or similar strings) and it'll be a mega instrument. 

Happy playing. 

Oh ! These strings are very expensive !

13 hours ago, tinyd said:

That action is at the higher end for a steel string "jazz" setup. Not badly so, but it might be worth considering getting a setup and/or adjustable bridge when you next have some money after buying decent strings :)

What are decent strings ? I was thinking about Gut-a-Like, Pyramid, in that range.

3 hours ago, hpc364 said:

Oh ! These strings are very expensive !

What are decent strings ? I was thinking about Gut-a-Like, Pyramid, in that range.

I'd agree with @Bloopdad1 about Evah Pirazzi - I use the light ones and they're really good.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

8 minutes ago, hpc364 said:

Thanks, at that price, everyone hopes they are good.