Why become a member? ×

headphone amps

NickA

I've had a pjb bighead ha1 for years, bought as a gizmo for silent practice, but ended up serving as a dac for my laptop, a headphone amp for my hifi, a tiny preamp used with a powered cab ..... and occasionally for silent practice.  A true Swiss army knife of sound.

BUT, the mico usb socket has broken free of the internal PCB.  It's all surface mount so way beyond my soldering skills to mend it properly.  I've fettled it so it will charge, but can't make the digital Comms stuff work ☹️

May need a new one.

I'd assumed someone other than pjb would make something similar, but HiFi headphone / dac devices generally lack analogue inputs so you can't plug a bass in, or are analogue only so can't connect o a laptop.

Is the pjb big head really so unique?

I would have thought prety much most interfaces will do this I have a Moukey MSc1 and it sounds great alternatively a lot of small format mixers have USB interfaces built in. I'm using my Alesis mixer at the moment for this evening's practice The ana logue circuitry leaves a bit to be desired but it's good enough for personal practice and recording ideas.

Hiopefully you can fix your old one though. Good Luck :)

There are quite a few devices that have all of those, I would say it was more the normal than unique. Any cheap digital mixer or IO box does it, I have a spark amp that does that very well (but also has a lot of effects) that I use in my living room, I have a behringer uphoria 202 that has two mic / xlr / jack sockets in, headphones out and does 96k usb out which I use for my chapman stick (as that is stereo and can use its 48v phantom), that is less than £50 and uses proper usb sockets - I hate micro-usbs for anything, it is a terrible socket that is always the first failure point. 

• Like 1