Why become a member? ×

Entry level practice amp

Hotglove

IMG_2206.thumb.png.1bfc4d73155080a3eef9092801a46d4d.png
Hi all, as a rank novice, I need some advice, I bought my Yamaha to start learning, one of my criteria was to keep all kit down to entry level prices, but also keep a reasonable resale value.

as yet I have no amp, I play through my Macbook Pro with Apogee One interface and Shure SHR 940 headphones and Garageband.

having read up on this site and elsewhere I have been looking for a practice amp and the parameters I have more or less settled on were, a used combo, around 30 watt, established brand, good condition, auxiliary input, not too big (needs to live under a desk)

From what I have seen there are 2 or 3 cheap Chinese amps that are clones of mainstream designs and are marketed as own brands by the big online dealers.

Normally I would avoid the own brands, but, at the moment, I am looking at the Fazley Dark Planet 35 from Bax, they are currently knocking these out at just under £50 inc postage, so, given the 30 day trial period, I am curious as to just how awful they might be, has anyone heard one?

all input welcome.

Edited by Hotglove

This is a bit more than you are looking to pay, but being used you wouldn't lose on it if you decided to move it on. There are a lot of cheap bass practice amps that are completely unsuitable for bass. This is a proper bass practice amp made by a famous amp brand. I have one myself

• Thanks 1

23 hours ago, Hotglove said:

IMG_2206.thumb.png.1bfc4d73155080a3eef9092801a46d4d.png
Hi all, as a rank novice, I need some advice, I bought my Yamaha to start learning, one of my criteria was to keep all kit down to entry level prices, but also keep a reasonable resale value.

as yet I have no amp, I play through my Macbook Pro with Apogee One interface and Shure SHR 940 headphones and Garageband.