Why become a member? ×

Please help- live gigging technique

Graffspree

Hi, I am really hoping for some advice please. I am a 46 y/o bassist in a busy covers band. We all make mistakes sometimes, that's fine, but sometimes I make them when I have lost concentration- I have ADHD, which doesn't help... 

I will be very, very grateful indeed if any of my fellow bassists have any tips for how to maintain concentration during a two hour plus gig. I really struggle so anything will be gratefully received. 

Fingers crossed and thanks fro Southwest England.

You should have seen me, I totally train wrecked 

I’m not adhd but partner is and kids are. I can therefore only advise from observation. They get around it by learning their material in small chunks and doing it so much that they don’t stress as much and so make fewer mistakes 

• Like 1

16 minutes ago, Graffspree said:

Hi, I am really hoping for some advice please. I am a 46 y/o bassist in a busy covers band. We all make mistakes sometimes, that's fine, but sometimes I make them when I have lost concentration- I have ADHD, which doesn't help... 

I will be very, very grateful indeed if any of my fellow bassists have any tips for how to maintain concentration during a two hour plus gig. I really struggle so anything will be gratefully received. 

Fingers crossed and thanks fro Southwest England.