Why become a member? ×

MusicWonderland.co.uk

Spinner

Hi all,

I've just bought a Shure SM58 from them for £70 - seems like a good price. Possibly suspiciously low. Has anyone else bought anything from them and has it proven OK? I was stung once by an dodgy eBay seller (although I got my own back) so I tend to be a little wary these days.

Anyway, anyone else have any opinions/experiences to share on them or their USA partner/parent, MusicWonderland.com?

Cheers,

Spinner

Thats stupidly cheap.
Maybe their stock is brought in from the US Parent, which does mean Shure UK won't look after you, should it go wrong.
Then again SM58's shouldn't go wrong.
It could be a fake, but Shure would be all over it, there have been loads around recently, and they're quick to put a stop to it.
You should post detailed pics when you get it, and i'll tell you. I've been selling these for 8 years, so i'll spot any oddness the packaging etc, if it would help.

[quote name='AndyTravis' post='654080' date='Nov 13 2009, 10:16 PM']Thats stupidly cheap.
Maybe their stock is brought in from the US Parent, which does mean Shure UK won't look after you, should it go wrong.
Then again SM58's shouldn't go wrong.
It could be a fake, but Shure would be all over it, there have been loads around recently, and they're quick to put a stop to it.
You should post detailed pics when you get it, and i'll tell you. I've been selling these for 8 years, so i'll spot any oddness the packaging etc, if it would help.[/quote]

Cheers, I'll do that. I think the theory of the USA parent supplying the mikes sounds most likely; if that is the case, I hope Customs charges won't be too high. I'll try and post photos once it arrives.

If it should fail (unlikely as it may be) is it possible to replace parts oneself? That is to say, is it at all modular?

Thanks,

Spinner