Why become a member? ×

New but Old

andybass54

Hi

I am Andy, new to the site and the forum. I've been playing bass guitar since 1987, having previously been a six string guitarist since the age of six.

My bass playing started by accident, as it often does. I was living and working in Bahrain in the middle east and had messed around playing mostly acoustic stuff for some years out there. I had met a number of other musicians who played guitar (literally dozens of them, all varying standard), one keyboard player who was rather good, a drunken drummer and a singer who was half bahraini, half english who really had a wonderful voice, somewhat like that of Neil Finn from crowded House. We decided we wanted to form a band, but nobody played bass. I decided to go to the local music shop where I bought myself a P Bass copy and an Ibanez bass amp that wighed a ton. We rehearsed, got some bookings and were away. Initially I played entirely with a pick, it was only on my return to England that I started playing fingerstyle, and that really coincided with the beginning of my love affair with the bass.

Through much of the ninetees/noughties I played in a few bands here, three of which were excellent. One played a brew of African/reggae/old R&B, the next pop/rock (the vocals were divine), and the a ceilidh band which I enjoyed immensely.

In mid 1992 I bought a Charvel Jazz bass to which I retro fitted EMG P/J pickups a couple of years later. I left it with passive tone controls, and it remains much the same today. In between time I have owned and played 2 Japanese precisions, a rick 4003, an Alembic Orion, two Yamaha 5 strings, several others too. Due to dire financial circumstances in recent years, all but the Charvel have now gone. For amplification I use a fairly recently acquired PJB Briefcase and a 100watt Yorkville 15 combo which I use to beef up volume at gigs.

NOW THE CONTRAVERSIAL BIT